A Beginner’s Reflection on Digital Literacy(DIGLIT ASSIGNMENT)

7658225516_9ce8847519_o

(CC by College Degrees 360 https://www.flickr.com/photos/83633410@N07/7658225516)

What is Digital Literacy?

When I first registered for my digital literacy class this summer, I did not fully grasp what I would actually be learning.

Digital=Computer Technology?

Literacy=Ability to Read and Write?

One might think that Digital Literacy has something to do with reading and writing on the computer, phone, I-pad, or whatever technological device you’re using.  While that’s partially true, in my research I found that Digital Literacy is a bit more comprehensive.

In short, Digital Literacy is the ability to use digital technology efficiently, which entails navigation, interpretation, creation, communication and cyber-safety.

What are the Essential Elements of Digital Learning? 

In today’s society, most students have technology at their fingers tips daily.  The use of technology has become commonplace and it would only make sense that students have access to this technology in the classroom, as well.

In 2010, the Digital Learning Council created The 10 Elements of High Quality Digital Learning, a comprehensive framework of state-level policies and actions designed to advance the meaningful and thoughtful integration of technology into K12 public education.”

    1.  Student Access: All students are digital learners.

    2.  Barriers to Access: All students have access to high quality digital learning.

    3.  Personalized Learning: All students can use digital learning to customize their  education. 

    4.  Advancement: All students progress based on demonstrated competency.

    5.  Quality Content: Digital content and courses are high quality.

    6.  Quality Instruction: Digital instruction is high quality.

    7.  Quality Choices: All students have access to multiple high quality digital learning providers.

    8.  Assessment and Accountability: Student learning is the metric for evaluating the quality of content, courses, schools and instruction.

    9.  Funding: Funding provides incentives for performance, options and innovations.

  10.  Infrastructure: Infrastructure supports digital learning.

What is Digital Fluency?

The Core Education Blog defines Digital Fluency as a combination of the following:

-digital, or technical, proficiency: able to understand, select and use the technologies and technological systems;
-digital literacy: cognitive or intellectual competencies, which include being able to read, create, evaluate and make judgements and apply technical skills while doing so;
-social competence, or dispositional knowledge: the ability to relate to others and communicate with them effectively.

What do I already know, what do I want to know, and what do I expect to learn about Digital Literacy?

After researching what Digital Literacy is, I would say that I am somewhat efficient at what it entails, though I still have much to learn.  I use my phone, computer, and I-pad on a frequent basis.  I can access information on the internet, play music, complete college courses, use Word, access and edit pictures and videos, use and communicate through social media, make phone calls, text, video call, etc.

I’ve never blogged in the past, but I found my first blog to be quite fun and therapeutic.  I hope to learn how to become better at blogging when it comes to topics that are of interest to me and that may help others.  I enjoy writing, so blogging appears to be a good option for me in the future after this class has ended.

One thing that I expect to learn is how to be a better communicator using technology.  I’ve never had a Twitter account before this class, and I like the idea of learning how to communicate my thoughts in fewer meaningful words.  I would expect to learn more about this through our class.  As I mentioned above, I’m new to blogging, as well, and because we had to start a blog for this class, I would assume we would learn more about it.  I would also expect to learn about Digital Literacy in the classroom and how to appropriately integrate technology into my classroom and teach my students about Digital Literacy, as well.

What do we need to do in order to become effective digital learners and leaders?

If I am going to be a teacher and an effective digital learner and leader, I need to be sure that I am not only proficient in Digital Literacy, but Digital Fluency, as well.  How can I teach my students if I have not mastered the topic myself?   I want to be sure that I am referencing the essential elements of digital learning and that I am following the ISTE Standards for Teachers, which are:

  1.  Facilitate and Inspire Student Learning and Creativity
  2. Design and Develop Digital Age Learning Experiences and Assessments
  3. Model Digital Age Work and Learning
  4. Promote and Model Digital Citizenship and Responsibility
  5. Engage in Professional Growth and Leadership

Resources on Digital Literacy: 

ISTE Standards:  https://www.iste.org/standards/standards

10 Digital  Literacy Resources for Teachers:  http://www.educationworld.com/a_lesson/ten-digital-literacy-resources-teachers.sham

What Digital Literacy Looks Like in the Classroom:  http://www.edweek.org/tm/articles/2014/10/29/ctq_crowley_digitalliteracy.html

Embedding Digital Literacy in the Classroom:  http://edtechreview.in/trends-insights/insights/2788-digital-literacy-in-the-classroom#.WTt2_tJaiWc.twitter

US Digital Literacy:  http://digitalliteracy.us/

Learn about Digital Literacy:  https://digitalliteracy.gov/

Learn basic computer skills:  https://www.digitalliteracyassessment.org/

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author:

I'm a mother of 3 wonderful boys, a wife, a college student working towards my elementary education degree, an aspiring children's book author, an avid volunteer, and a substitute teacher. I love being outdoors, reading, spreading kindness, spending time with family, learning, and teaching.

6 thoughts on “A Beginner’s Reflection on Digital Literacy(DIGLIT ASSIGNMENT)

  1. I find that the creation part is often left out when schools focus lessons on digital literacy. We try to teach students how to find reliable content, but consumption is only one small piece of the digital literacy puzzle. One thing I love about blogging and Twitter is that we’re creating these public spaces to showcase our learning–which we can then share with our students. We’re creating the very models we need for our classrooms!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I absolutely plan on utilizing blogging in my own classroom, as I believe it’s a great creative outlet for people of all ages. The public spaces are a great way to bounce ideas off of others within the field of education.

      Like

  2. Dezirae, I am so glad you found a medium that is a therapeutic and fun outlet. You have a knack for blogging. If you had not said that you were new to it, I would have guessed you had been at it for years.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I enjoy writing, but blogging is new to me. I believe I’ll continue to blog in the future simply to give myself a place to write freely.

      Like

  3. This is an awesome post. You really nailed the term digital literacy. I think that digital literacy is something that is going to stay with us for quite a long time. How are some ways you would teach digital literacy as a teacher?

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thank you! When I become a teacher, I think I will mostly attempt to teach digital learning through an integrated curriclum. For example, a Language class assignment can consist of writing a blog on a certain topic of thier choice. This integrates digital learning with Language. The need for digital literacy has become much more apparent, so it’s vital that we make it part of the curriclum.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

