Independent Learning Project-Week 1 Couch to 5k

My first week of following the Couch to 5k plan is in the books!  I either ran or walked on six days out of this last week, and it sure felt good to be active! I also increased my water intake to at least 96 oz every day.  It was a crazy week, and I worried I wouldn’t get 4 hours in.   I ended up with 2 of my kids having strep throat, and one of them coming down with a crazy allergic reaction that we think was caused by mosquito bites.  Two trips to the doctor and two trips to the pharmacy this past week, as well as taking care of sick kiddos, but I made it!

Here’s what my first week looked like.

Sunday:

On Sunday, I decided to start out my learning project with a nice hour long walk around town with my dog.  It’s not uncommon for us to go for walks a few times a week, but it’s usually right about a mile long.

image8

This time, we walked for just under an hour and traveled 2.91 miles and over 6000 steps!   It was a beautiful evening to be out and about!  I found that I handled the walk just fine, even though I’m not used to going that distance.  It made me wonder how I would handle running the same distance in the future.

image7

Monday: 

Monday was my first day actually getting some running in, and it was much easier than I thought it would be.  I only had to run 1 min and then walk 1.5 minutes 6 different times, with a 5 minute warm up walk in the beginning and a 5 minute cool down walk at the end.   I know it’s not much, but I’m starting at square one.

image4

image3

I decided to go out of town, as I really don’t like running in front of people, so I took off down the gravel road across from our house.  After my run/walk intervals were complete, as well as my cool down, I finished it out walking to make it an even 2 miles in 32:22 minutes.  I even met some curious cows along the way that were cooling themselves in the creek.

image6

Wednesday:

Wednesday was day 2 on the Couch to 5k app and I had the opportunity to do the same run/walk interval trainings, running 1 minute and walking 1.5 minutes 6 different times.

image4[1]

image3[1]

I went out in the country again, and boy was it a beautiful night!  Did anyone catch the sunset?  It’s like the sky was on fire.  I pushed myself to go the extra time to get to 2 miles and it ended up being 30.42.  Did you notice the change in pace and the total duration time?  My pace was a whole minute faster than the day before!  I had decided to push myself a bit and I ended up running a bit extra than what was required.

image1

Thursday:

Wednesday was day 3 on the Couch to 5k  app and I did the same run/walk intervals as day 1 and 2 and went to 2 miles.  I pushed myself again this time, and when I felt I could run a bit longer, I did.   My time was a little faster, but not by much.

image2

image1[1]

The pastures of cows are always so fun to pass by, as they are super curious and just watch me as I go by.   Nebraska the beautiful!  I love the wide open spaces, the wildlife, the open sky, and the sand hills.

image2

Friday:

For the Couch to 5K app, there are only 3 runs per week, so I debated what I wanted to do for my last hour and a half required for my independent learning project.  Did I want to repeat the days in week 1 or did I want to move on to week 2?  I made the decision to move on to week 2 on Friday and push myself to try and finish the whole program a bit sooner.  I had to run 1.5 minutes and walk 2 minutes 4 different times and then run for 1 minute and walk for 1 minute 2 different times.  On my previous runs, I only had to run for 1 minute straight during my intervals.  It went well, and it was more of a challenge than the previous runs had been.

image4

image3  Did you see how much quicker my duration time was for the 2 miles I ran/walked?  I was a whole 2 minutes faster than the previous day’s run/walk intervals.  It’s exciting to see the progress over a week, as it gives me hope that I may actually get to the point where I can run a 5k.

Saturday:

I finally made it to the end of the week!   It was a tough one, and some days it was hard getting my exercise in.  I made the decision to take an hour long walk around town again like I did on Sunday, and it was sure a beautiful morning.   My dog and I walked for a little over 1 hour and went 3.38 miles.

image1

When it was time for me to run/walk, I kept thinking about what else I needed to be doing or how I could be working on homework, but then I reminded myself that this is homework.  More importantly, this is also an opportunity for me to work on myself.  I want to be healthy and fit, and I do see the benefits from when I get out and exercise and just clear my head.  I feel like I can concentrate more and I feel more motivated to finish the tasks that are placed in front of me.

With the increase in water intake, and the added daily vitamin and vitamin B-12, I hope to see even more results.  I’d love to have more energy than I do, so hopefully my choices are a step in the right direction.  Seeing my waistline slim is also much hoped for!

If you have any tips for beginner runners, I’d love to hear them!  Has anyone tried the energy chews for running or something similar?  What has your experience been?

 

 

 

 

Author:

I'm a mother of 3 wonderful boys, a wife, a college student working towards my elementary education degree, an aspiring children's book author, an avid volunteer, and a substitute teacher. I love being outdoors, reading, spreading kindness, spending time with family, learning, and teaching.

6 thoughts on “Independent Learning Project-Week 1 Couch to 5k

  1. I think you are off to a great start! I think all the tracking and pictures you took during run or walk is awesome and motivating. I agree Nebraska is one beautiful state, especially during the evening. I hope your kids are doing better and good luck with the rest of your learning project.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! It’s always interesting trying to schedule anything this time of year with all three kids being a baseball and my husband and I not coaching, so adding illnesses to the mix can make it all even more crazy! I wouldn’t change it for the world though.

      Like

  2. Great work my friend! I love how you stayed accountable and pushed through even though there was so much going on with your sick kiddos. Such a motivating post and I can’t wait to see your progress next week!

    Like

  3. It is definitely tricky to get a workout in when you’re also scheduling around kids–especially sick kids! I try to make myself do it first thing in the morning, because if I don’t do it then, it usually doesn’t get done. Easy to get caught up in other tasks. Your photos are beautiful–and congrats on a very successful first week!

    Like

    1. Thank you! I think I may need to start moving some of my workouts to the morning, too. It should start to slow down here in the evenings after baseball season ends this week, so it will make it a bit easier. Right now we have 3 kids playing ball, so we are at the fields most nights of the week. Always something going on! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

