What Does Google Say About Me?

Have you ever tried to Google your name to see what would show up?

Today, I did just that.

14253849274_62bcbdc283_o

(Picture from Flickr by Global Panorama)

When I post on social media, I always think about who may be reading it, and I always make sure it’s appropriate.  Since I’m a substitute teacher and a future full-time teacher, I always ask myself if I’d be okay with my students reading it.  Would I be okay with my own children viewing it?  If the answer is no, then I don’t post it.

When I put my name into Google, the first thing that popped up was my Twitter account, which was just newly created due to the digital literacy class that I’m taking this summer.  My tweets are all education related and pertain to my class, so there is nothing there I would have an issue with anyone seeing.  It doesn’t surprise me that this was what pulled up first, as I’ve made multiple posts on this account over the past month for my class.

The first images that pulled up were my profile picture for Twitter, a picture I posted on Twitter of my son for an assignment, and a picture of my grandfather that sadly passed away in August of last year.  The picture of my grandfather was tied to the obituary that I was mentioned in.  My name actually pulled up multiple times in connection with his obituary that was posted in different newspapers.

A couple of my blog posts pulled up, one that discussed my journey as a learner and another that talked about hacking education.

I also noticed that numerous articles pulled up for WNCC’s president’s list, which I made every semester I was there expect the last one where I only had one class left to take(you have to be a full-time student).

A Go Fund Me post also showed up, which I recently donated to after a family member had their college books stolen from their car.

We’ve participated in the Panhandle Polar Plunge for Special Olympics the last three years, and our team’s First Giving fundraising accounts pulled up from 2015.

I also saw a 5k that my son and I had participated in back in 2014.  I remember we walked most of it, but it was for a great cause-The Wounded Warrior Project.

My dog and I have been working on her trick dog titles through “Do More with Your Dog!” so our titles also pulled up, as it’s listed on their website.

So what does all of this say about me? What would people think when they search me on Google?

I think I’ve done a relatively good job of leaving a positive and professional digital footprint.  I’m conscious of what I put out there, as I know anyone could be reading it, including future employers, parents, community members, and students.

This little experiment made me realize that I do need to be aware of what I’m putting out there, as it will likely show to anyone who wants to make a quick Google search.  I’m glad that everything that shows for me is positive and appropriate at this time, and I need to be sure I keep it that way.

What does a Google search say about you?

Author:

I'm a mother of 3 wonderful boys, a wife, a college student working towards my elementary education degree, an aspiring children's book author, an avid volunteer, and a substitute teacher. I love being outdoors, reading, spreading kindness, spending time with family, learning, and teaching.

One thought on “What Does Google Say About Me?

  1. You have been careful with what you’ve posted. It is a scary thing to me too. I think our students don’t have that worry or fear because it has always been around and is normal to them.

    Like

Leave a Reply

