Independent Learning Project: Week 3 Couch to 5k

It’s been an interesting and busy week trying to get the work outs in with the 4th of July and being at the lake camping, but I managed to get in just over 3 hours this week. I also happened to weight myself yesterday and found that I lost 4 pounds!  Though I hadn’t planned on losing weight, I can’t complain!  Hopefully this means I’m working towards getting more toned up and losing some of this fluff around the midsection.  My water intake has also been great, though my food choices still have not been as good as they could be.

Here’s how this week looked:

Sunday:

We headed down to Alliance on Sunday to stay a few days with family for the 4th of July as that’s always a big holiday on my husband’s side of the family.  I set out Sunday evening to try to get my hour of walking in, but unfortunately I only was able to walk 20 minutes due to the storm that was rolling in and bringing lightening with it.  It was a nice change of scenery getting to walk around Lang Lake, though.

Monday:

Monday I started on my Couch to 5k app and worked out for 32 minutes and went 2 miles.  My path was a bit crazy as I made the mistake of chugging a water before hand and needed to search out the bathroom.  HA! There were so many baby ducks and geese on the pond, which made it nice, though my dog wanted to try to chase every one we walked by.  I guess that was an added workout since she was pulling on the leash one direction as I was trying to go another.  This was a very tough work out for me because I had to run for 3 minutes straight.  My body struggled, and I couldn’t complete the second 3 minute running interval.

Tuesday:

I worked on the same Couch to 5k day trying to get my body used to running the 3 minutes straight two times.  It was beautiful around the lake again and all of the ducks and geese were out enjoying the morning, too.  I went another 2 miles and it took 34 minutes, which seemed a bit slow for some reason.

Thursday:

We made it back home and I was able to get my workout in during he morning, but it was already so hot at almost 90!  I went just under 4 miles in 1.16 hours, and it felt great!  I started with the same day on the Couch to 5k app again to get those 3 minutes and then I just walked around town.

Friday:

We came out to the lake to do some camping, fishing and kayaking as a family, and I was able to get a about a half an hour in on Friday evening.  Unfortunately, my son almost ran my phone dead, so I wasn’t able to take it with me to track my run or to use the Couch to 5k app.  I just did some walking and running intervals and by the time I came around the lake, it had just been under 30 minutes.  I’m actually completing my homework from the lake this weekend, and it sure beats a desk!  🙂

 

 

 

 

Author:

I'm a mother of 3 wonderful boys, a wife, a college student working towards my elementary education degree, an aspiring children's book author, an avid volunteer, and a substitute teacher. I love being outdoors, reading, spreading kindness, spending time with family, learning, and teaching.

6 thoughts on “Independent Learning Project: Week 3 Couch to 5k

  1. CONGRATULATIONS!!! Surprise weight loss is always something to celebrate. I have to admire you. Your perseverance is impressive. I also love the pictures. It is like we get to go on your runs with you, and not have to get sweaty.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! I think cutting out Mountain Dew has helped, too. Pop is so bad for you, but the caffeine sure helps keep me awake!

      Like

    1. Thank you! My kids and I are heading to visit family up north this next week, so it will be another rough week, but hopefully I can get it all in still.

      Like

  2. Awesome job! Fourth of July week was a busy and tiring week but sounds like you made a lot of progress and you had a blessed holiday. Keep up the good work and I really look forward to your pictures you post on your blog.

    Like

Leave a Reply

