Independent Learning Project: Week 4 Couch to 5k

This has been another interesting week!  We came home from camping on Sunday and had to quickly repack and load up in my aunt’s vehicle to head back to North Dakota with her.  We have family in North Dakota and Minnesota, so we often come up in the summer for visits.  We went half way on Sunday and the rest of the way on Monday.  With stops, it ends up being around a 12 hour drive.  The drive makes it quite difficult to get work outs in, but I managed to get in 3 hours.  I didn’t do much running, because I ended up with a sore ankle that just wouldn’t go away, so most of the week was spent walking.

Monday:

We spent Sunday night in Pierre, South Dakota, so Monday morning I took my dog for a walk down by the river.   They have wonderful walk ways in the area, but I didn’t get to use them much as I spent most of my time walking my dog in a weedy area trying to get her to do her business.   My dog is so picky about where she goes!  I only ended up making it 1 mile in the 30 minutes I walked.

Wednesday:

Monday and Tuesday night we spent time with my grandmother in North Dakota, and I didn’t spend any time working out, as we only had a couple of nights there.  Wednesday we arrived at my aunt’s lake house in Minnesota, and I tried to get in some of my run/walk intervals using my couch to 5k app.  It didn’t go well, as I found that every time I ran, the outside lower part of my ankle was in pain.  I tried to just push through it, but the hills made it difficult, as well.  I ended up going 2 miles in 31.57 minutes.

 

Friday:

We were still at my aunt’s lake house, so I took off for another walk around her neighborhood.  It was a beautiful morning to be out!  I tried to run again, but my ankle was even more sore for some reason, and I decided not to push it and risk causing more issues.  I ended up walking for a little over an hour and went 3 miles.

Saturday:

Today we are still at my aunt’s lake house, enjoying the beautiful weather and scenery!   I decided to take another hour long walk to rest my foot, and managed to go another 3 miles.

Though this week didn’t go as I would have liked, I’m happy I was still able to get in 3 hours of work outs even though we are on vacation visiting family.  I’m hoping my ankle doesn’t become an issue and that I’m able to get back to my normal schedule when I get back home next week.  I’m a bit worried about how much I’ve struggled with increasing my running endurance, but hopefully I can improve.  I’m still struggling with running for 3 minutes straight and I sure wish my body would let me do it.  I’m determined to keep pushing and keep trying, and I still hope I can do a 5k, though I’m not sure if I’ll be able to run it all.  I just keep reminding myself that I’m still lapping everyone on the couch… right?

 

 

 

 

Author:

I'm a mother of 3 wonderful boys, a wife, a college student working towards my elementary education degree, an aspiring children's book author, an avid volunteer, and a substitute teacher. I love being outdoors, reading, spreading kindness, spending time with family, learning, and teaching.

4 thoughts on “Independent Learning Project: Week 4 Couch to 5k

  1. I love your positive spirit here! Absolutely you’re lapping everyone sitting on the couch! And even if your workouts aren’t quite what you’d like them to be right now, you’re out there doing it and that’s something to feel really good about. I enjoy all of the visuals in your posts.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! I wish I was further along than where I am now, but I need to just keep pushing through. I’m still more active now than what I was before and that’s an accomplishment!

      Like

  2. Look at all the amazing views you have been able to see this week! I am glad you let yourself have a break this week with the sore ankle. That would be bad if you damaged it more. I hope you rest easy and it feels better soon! Keep up the hard work!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! It was a challenge to run on the hilly roads near my aunt’s house! I’m wondering if that’s not what caused the ankle pain, because I’m fine now this week. The change of scenery was definitely nice!

      Like

Leave a Reply

