Independent Learning Project Final Thoughts: Week 5 Couch to 5k 

It’s hard to believe I’ve already completed week 5 of my independent learning project!  It was a very hot week, and I found that even if I tried waiting until after 8pm at night, it was still in the 90’s.  I still managed to get in 3 hours of walking/running though, so I’m happy about that!  Due to the fact that I was going out so late at night, the lighting wasn’t great for pictures, though I still took some each time.

Tuesday:

It was so hot!  I went out at 8:30pm, but it was still 93 degrees.  I managed to get in a little over 30 minutes working on the couch to 5k app.  I’m still trying to get myself used to the 3 minute running intervals.  For some reason my body just is fighting me every step.  It feels like I have weights on my arms and legs, and I don’t know if that’s due to the Fibromyalgia or if it’s lasting effects of the auto-immune disease I have.  It’s disheartening, though.  I want to so badly to run a 5k, and I’m determined to keep working on it.

Thursday:

I decided to work on my Couch to 5k app and then spend another 15 minutes cooling down with a walk.  I still struggled with the running intervals, but I made it through without having to stop early.  One of my sons came with me and rode his bike, which was a nice change!  In 45 minutes I went 2 1/2 miles, so it wasn’t too bad.

img_2417

Friday:

I seemed to go backwards on Friday and found myself unable to run for very long before needing to stop.  I don’t know why. It’s bad enough when you feel like you’ve hit a plateau, but to actually go backwards in progress is even tougher.  I was just flat out slow and tired.  I went a little over 45 minutes again and made it 2.36 miles, so I did still manage to get my minutes and miles in, not matter if they were slower than I’d like.

IMG_2439

Saturday:

I decided to go out earlier in the morning to try to beat the heat and keep from having to be out at dusk.  I was surprised at how warm out it was already and that it was showing 69% humidity!  Eek!  The puppers and I still had a nice 3 mile walk in a little over an hour.  We spend our weekend walks in town, so there is never much to take pictures of, though these cows were sure interested in us as we walked by.

I’m incredibly happy that I chose what I did for my independent learning project.  I feel so much better after I’ve been out for a walk or a run, and I want to keep doing it on a frequent basis through out the week.  I’m not as far along as I would like to be as far as training for a 5k, but I’m better than where I started.  I’m determined to get over this hump and continue to improve.   I want to continue to stay active and to drink the amount of water I’ve been drinking each week.  I think that’s a doable goal!  I want to run a 5k this summer without stopping, though I don’t know if I’ll be ready in the middle of August like I had hoped.  I wish I was one of those people that could easily run for miles without stopping, but that’s just not who I am right now and maybe I won’t ever be.  That’s okay.  It’s not about how fast I am or how far I can go without stopping.  It’s about improving myself.  I’m in better shape now than what I was 5 weeks ago.  I’m drinking more water than what I was 5 weeks ago.  I’m better at taking my vitamins than what I was 5 weeks ago.  I’m becoming a healthier me, and that’s success right there!

 

 

 

 

 

Author:

I'm a mother of 3 wonderful boys, a wife, a college student working towards my elementary education degree, an aspiring children's book author, an avid volunteer, and a substitute teacher. I love being outdoors, reading, spreading kindness, spending time with family, learning, and teaching.

6 thoughts on “Independent Learning Project Final Thoughts: Week 5 Couch to 5k 

    1. Baby steps and I’ll make it eventually! I mentioned last week that I’m still lapping everyone on the couch, and that’s what I keep reminding myself.

      Like

    1. Maybe it was the heat this week…hopefully! I may end up having to get up early in the morning to run so it’s cooler. I can’t believe how hot it’s been at dusk.

      Like

Leave a Reply

